1. Lawless Times
  2. Troubled Man
  3. Minutes To Memories
  4. Small Town
  5. Stones In My Passway
  6. Pop Singer
  7. Check It Out
  8. Longest Days
  9. The Full Catastrophe
  10. My Soul's Got Wings
  11. Overture
  12. Rain On The Scarecrow
  13. Paper In Fire
  14. Authority Song
  15. Pink Houses
  16. Cherry Bomb

Label : Eagle Rock Entertainment

Venue : The Chicago Theatre, Chicago, Illinois, USA

Recording Date : October 25, 2016

Release Date : 2018

Length : 71:59

Review (Blues Magazine) : John Mellencamp begon zijn carrière als John Cougar, ook al had hij liever zijn eerste albums uitgebracht onder zijn eigen naam. Maar daar dacht de platenmaatschappij anders over en jarenlang stond de naam Cougar op zijn albums en concertposters. In 1983 besloot John Mellencamp dat het tijd werd om zijn eigen naam te gebruiken en stond er voortaan op zijn albums: John Cougar Mellencamp. In 1991 zal de naam Cougar helemaal verdwijnen. John Mellencamp was in de jaren zeventig redelijk succesvol maar zijn grote succes kwam pas in 1982 met de single Hurts So Good die de top drie behaalde in de Amerikaanse hitlijsten. Dit succes werd nog eens herhaald met de single Jack & Diane en een jaar later met het 'Uh-Huh' album. De man blijft succesvol in de jaren tachtig en negentig. Het 'Plain Spoken' album uit 2014 is zijn twintigste studio album met eigen materiaal. De tour was maar liefst 120 shows lang en één daarvan werd dus opgenomen en gefilmd voor deze release. Het is natuurlijk geen verrassing dat Mellencamp het optreden begint met twee nummers van het 'Plain Spoken' album. Lawless Time en Troubled Man. Hierna speelt Mellencamp en zijn band een selectie uit zijn lange carrière. Wat opvalt is dat hij geen nummers speelt uit zijn tijd als John Cougar, met als oudste nummers Authority Song en Pink Houses van het in 1983 'Uh-Huh' album. Na de twee nummers van het 'Plain Spoken' album komen twee nummers van het 'Scarecrow' album uit 1985, later in de show komt nog het nummer Rain On The Sacrecrow van dit album. Maar eerst zijn Minutes To Memories en Small Town van het 'Scarecrow' album aan de beurt. Dan is het weer even tijd voor een nieuwer nummer: Stones In My Passway van het 'Trouble No More' album uit 2003. En zo wisselt Mellencamp oude nummers af met wat nieuwere nummers. Maar het grootste deel zijn het nummers uit de jaren tachtig. Zo komen ook nog Check It Out, Paper In Fire en Cherry Bomb van de zeer succesvolle opvolger van het Scarecrow album: 'The Lonesome Jubilee' album uit 1987. Bij de cd zit ook nog een dvd of blu-ray met het hele concert in twee versies. Het volledige concert met muziek of het concert met een audio track van John Mellencamp die verteld over zijn leven en carrière. Leuk om een keertje te beluisteren maar echt veel verrassingen bevat zijn verhaal niet. Kortom: Al met al een erg goed concert van John Mellencamp. Hij en zijn band staan met veel plezier op het podium, iets wat je op de cd al kan horen. Mellencamp zelf zegt weinig tijdens het concert maar dat is ook totaal niet nodig. De nummers vertellen al genoeg mooie verhalen.

Review (Blog Critics) : A tremendous release for fans of John Mellencamp, Plain Spoken - From the Chicago Theatre offers not only an intense audio/visual concert experience, but also an intimate look inside the artist's life. The feature-length, 16-song concert is presented in two ways: 1) as a straightforward (and frickin' awesome) heartland rock show, 2) that same show with Mellencamp's "commentary" running over it. It's labelled a commentary in the packaging, for lack of a better word I guess. The actual audio sounds like more of a prepared, biographical work rather than what has become the standard "describe what's on screen" kind of audio track. In other words, this commentary commands attention, with Mellencamp delivering his life story with quiet urgency. The effect blurs the line between the typical concert film and a documentary. The default option on the Blu-ray, in fact, is to play the concert with the narration. Intrigued, I opted for that on my first viewing and was pleased with the choice. Mellencamp, who once stated with cunning self awareness in a VH-1 Rockumentary that "it's never been cool to like John Mellencamp," remains an underrated treasure of American music even after a staggering 40+ years in the business. He has evolved from the 25-year-old corporate rock pawn "Johnny Cougar," releasing a debut album laced with covers of Elvis Presley's "Jailhouse Rock" and The Doors' "Twentieth Century Fox," to one of the most nuanced, mature, thoughtful singer-songwriters of this or any era. Mellencamp delivers what amounts to a condensed memoir (the contents of which are found in print form in this package's booklet). He pauses frequently enough for the concert's music to come through. The thoughts expressed reflect a wisdom earned over decades by a man who, as he sang on a 1989 hit, "never wanted to be no pop singer." Some of very specific and personal memories are of his upbringing and early career. But he veers off into deeply-felt artistic philosophy. Listening to him deliver such interesting commentary for 80 minutes, rather than being exhausting, led me to watch the unadorned performance immediately thereafter. By the way, the prepared, organized nature of Mellencamp's personal narrative commentary ensures that it's a piece worth returning to, not just a novelty to hear once and forget. The entire concert is also presented as an audio CD. I love that Eagle Vision often does this with their live concert video releases. Sitting down in front a screen to watch a concert film takes a certain amount of commitment. Many times I've watched a great concert video and wished I had a convenient way to listen to the music 'on the go'-wherever, whenever. The solution, offered by Eagle Vision, is to include the concert as a live album along with the Blu-ray (also available at a more economic price as a standard DVD).