1. Glory
  2. Vagrants Of Venice
  3. 1974
  4. Your Own Ride
  5. Buddha On A Hill
  6. I Am No Artist
  7. 1967
  8. Balanced On A Pin
  9. Other Half Rule
  10. Janet
  11. Woodstock

Label : BMG

Length : 45:11

Release Date : October 26, 2018

Review (AllMusic) : Between 1971 and 1993, David Crosby released three solo albums. Between 2014 and 2018, Crosby released four, with the three following 2014's Croz recorded in conjunction with Michael League, the impresario behind the adventurous jazzbos Snarky Puppy. Along with League, Crosby collaborated with Michelle Willis and Becca Stevens in a group that became informally known as the "Lighthouse Band," as this collective was first debuted on the 2016 album Lighthouse. Here If You Listen is the third in this series, following 2017's Sky Trails by a year, and while it certainly the work of the same group, it feels distinctly different than its predecessors. Chalk that up to the Lighthouse Band interacting like a band here, collaborating on the writing and trading off lead vocals as they glide into lush, shimmering harmonies. Here If You Listen flows elegantly, as it's not only the individual voices that mesh: it's the individual styles as well. This means the album isn't quite as melancholy or meditative as Lighthouse, even with explicit mentions to Buddhism and Crosby contemplating "I've been thinking about dying/How to do it well" on "Your Own Ride." Crosby may have mortality on his mind but he's consumed with life, particularly the life that League, Willis, and Stevens give him. There's a palpable sense of joy to Here If You Listen, an emotion that's evident in the harmonies but also in the liquid, quicksilver transitions between open-string drones, jazz changes, and even trace hints of funk. At its best, which it often is, Here If You Listen plays like a hybrid of Steely Dan, Joni Mitchell, and CSN, a combination that is soothing and surprising in equal measure. It's an album that confirms Crosby is at an unexpected and satisfying latter-day creative peak.